Western River Basin District

The Western River Basin District (RBD) incorporates counties Mayo, Sligo, Galway (including the Galway Urban District area), Leitrim and smaller portions of Roscommon and County Clare. It includes mainly catchments of the rivers Corrib, Moy, Ballysadare, Dunkellin, Bonet and Erriff and the famous Western Lakes: Corrib, Conn, Mask, Carra, Gill, Cuilin and Carrowmore, along with the coastline of Sligo, Mayo, Galway and Clare. It also includes offshore islands such as the Aran Islands and Inishboffin.

Contact Details of the Western River Basin District Project Office are:

Western River Basin District

Project Coordinator: Ms. Maire Ni Chionna

Tel: 091 746 804
Fax: 091 762 546
E-mail: info[at]westernrbd.ie

Address: Western River Basin District Project Office, Porch 2, Unit 17, Liosban Industrial Estate, Tuam Road, Galway

Website: www.westernrbd.ie

SWAN National and Local Groups operating in Western RBD are: